Mineck Fellowship

Libby Schrum Sving ChairThe John D. Mineck Foundation was formed in 2007 to award charitable and educational gifts reflecting John D. Mineck’s interests and values. John was a past President of the Society of Arts and Crafts Board of Trustees and a beloved member of Boston’s cultural community. He was a friend to everyone he met and it was always important to him to stay in touch with new and old friends alike — reaching out, offering to help, being supportive and engaged.

The Furniture Fellowship developed from John’s love for making fine furniture and the skill, passion, and dedication exhibited by those in the field. In an effort to support the craft that John loved and the people who make it, the John D. Mineck Foundation created this Fellowship to encourage and support a young-in-career furniture artist with the financial assistance to help them succeed in their journey. Through the generosity of the Foundation, we are able to award $25,000 annually to an artist who demonstrates skill and commitment to their craft.

Our past winners are Will Tracey (2009), Libby Schrum (2010), Bart Niswonger (2011), Nick Hollibaugh (2012), Vivian Beer (2013), Kimberly Winkle (2014), Sarah Marriage (2015), and Annie Evelyn (2016).
This cohort represents the qualities John appreciated in the field: talent in making, exploration and growth of new ideas, and the importance of a community that supports each other. Their work demonstrates the possibilities in making — a variety of techniques, design aesthetics, and functional forms.

The Society of Arts and Crafts would like to extend our gratitude to the John D. Mineck Foundation for making this Fellowship a possibility.

Application period will open on June 1, 2017, with a deadline to apply by August 1. The 2017 winner will be named on September 1. Please write to Luiza deCamargo, Curator, at  This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. with any questions.


Chair by Libby Schrum